Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

Ace of Pentacles January 26, 2008 @ 12:25 p.m.

People often offer me a penny for my thoughts when I allow silence to linger, perhaps while staring out a window or contemplating the latest confusion of things. I might be willing to offer up more if the buying price were a bit higher. While I'm aware of my tendency to locate my head somewhere in the vicinity of the clouds, and possibly beyond, getting down to Earth has been a challenge for much of my life.

I think, like most people, I was a lot more grounded when I was younger. I still consider myself a very sensual person, but these days I find myself being thrown back and forth between Heaven and Earth, lacking a balance I'm not sure I ever really had, but am suspicious was much more forthcoming when I was a child. There's an automaticism that comes with being young that allows you to balance and enjoy things simulataneously in a definitely unreasonable manner. However, having forgotten such things as adults, we tend to all run into the same ironic wall: trying to remember and rediscover the methodology for something which we never gave particular thought to, because it always came naturally.

Getting down to Earth and cashing in those grand thoughts we have for hopefully more than a penny is generally regarded as an essential part of growing up. The question becomes then whether we choose to be a risky enterpreneur with our thoughts, goals, and dreams, or whether we sell-out to the highest bidder of security. You have to be willing to get your hands dirty, but it takes more than that. Growing and real-izing something tangible and solid is a long-haul effort.

An article I read recently on the topic of New Year's Resolutions and realizing goals (or not) made a point that has stuck with me the last few weeks. It emphasized that choosing to pursue a resolution - a goal - is not a one-time decision. It isn't just a matter of envisioning a goal and then declaring you will seek it. The key insight of the article was that you have to make the decision, and then make it again. And again. And again. Over and over, you must remake and reaffirm your initial goal and the decision to pursue it - through everyday life and practical action. In the example of the now infamous correlation between New Year's resolutions and gym membership, is isn't that people aren't sincere when they resolve to get in better shape. Its that the resolution doesn't hold through all the small and large hurdles along the way. The decision to start down the path to better fitness is far easier than the hundreds of decisions involved in the real-life work of getting out of bed and getting one's tookus in gear.

You're walking along through a garden one day, when suddenly a giant hand reaches down out of the clouds, and offers a practical and realistic solution to your problem. How wonderful! What fool would discount such a gift? And yet, we dismiss these very gifts everyday just because they don't literally fall out of Heaven and whack us on the head. Its a good thing they don't - pentacles can be big and heavy things.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com