Bio
Latest
This Year
Last Year
Older
Music
Links
Profile
Notes
E-Mail
Diaryland

"Ain't No Love" March 23, 2006 @ 8:35 a.m.

Its strange - I could have swore the lyrics were different in various places for this song - like "out in the starry firmament" or "Baby, Life is Heaven Sent", or "quiver in the dust". But this is from his website, so I guess I was wrong. It goes to show just how much we project our own experiences and thoughts onto music.

***
David Gray - Ain't No Love

Maybe that it would do me good
if I believed there were a god
Cut in the starry firmament.
But as it is that�s just a lie
and I'm here eating up the boredom
on an island of cement.
Give me your ecstasy I'll feel it
open window and I'll steal it
baby like it�s heaven sent.

This ain�t no love that�s guiding me.

Some days I'm bursting at the seams
with all my half remembered dreams
and then it shoots me down again.
I feel the dampness as it creeps
I hear you coughing in your sleep
beneath a broken window pane.
Tomorrow girl I'll buy you chips
a lollipop to stain your lips
and it�ll all be right as rain.

This ain�t no love that�s guiding me.
This ain�t no love that�s guiding me.

No it ain�t no love guiding me.
No it ain�t no love guiding me.
No it ain�t no love guiding me.

This ain�t no love that�s guiding me.
This ain�t no love that�s guiding me.

On winter trees the fruit of rain
is hanging trembling in the branches
like a thousand diamond buds.
And waiting there in every pause
that old familiar fear that claws you;
tells you nothing ain�t no good.
Then pulling back you see it all
down here so laughable and small
hardly a quiver in the dirt.

This ain�t no love that�s guiding me.

"Details in the Fabric" - May 31, 2009
Not So Quick Questions - April 6, 2009
The Morning Stars - Lords of the 15 - April 9, 2009
Sincerity and Faith in Magic - April 10, 2009
Not So Quick Questions (2) - April 14, 2009

Are you registered to vote?
CURRENT MOON

moon phase
Subscribe to spirit_summoning
Powered by�groups.yahoo.com
Subscribe to solomonic

Powered by us.groups.yahoo.com